Bacon makes everything taste good

I love bacon. I tell my husband that bacon makes anything taste good.  For that matter, cheese does too.  He disagrees, however.  Especially the one time a year I serve brussel sprouts.  Each year, our CSA sends us this beautiful bag of brussel sprouts. I look forward to it each fall, and eagerly wait for the email in which David from Hog’s Back Farm tells us the brussel sprouts are coming.  I roast them with bacon, apples and shallots and serve them to my family with excitement.  I still haven’t convinced them that they are as delicious as I promise.  But I refuse to give up.  Someday, I WILL have a brussel sprout lover like me.

Anyway, I use bacon more to flavor other foods and I keep it on hand at all times, because it makes a great basis for a meal that hasn’t been planned.  This week, when I was out of planned meals, I remembered the canned sweet corn that was given to us this fall and decided to make a corn chowder.  I combined a couple of recipes I found from my Epicurious app.  I highly recommend the Epicurious app.  The search capability is the best I’ve found and you can choose several ways to find a recipe, including specific ingredients.  My chowder consisted of two jars of corn, potatoes, onion, a few slices of cut up bacon, celery, chicken broth, milk, thyme, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Yum!

The boys ate it, but Son #1 is the only real soup lover so far.  I think you are either a soup lover or  you are not.  I happen to love soup, and could eat soup several times a week.  Son #2 likes tomato soup and miso soup, but lots of chunks seem to turn him off.  He likes the broth best.  Son #3 is given mostly the chopped ingredients from soups right now.  Once he masters the art of using a spoon, we will give him his own bowl.  It’s a work in progress at this point.

 

Corn chowder and BLT night.

 

 

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tammy McLeod said,

    Bacon is my secret too. I don’t eat it but have found that putting it with any vegetable really heightens the interest here with my boys. I also put a bit of maple syrup on the brussels and have found that I can entice them.

  2. 2

    kellie scales said,

    I make brussel sprouts with bacon once or twice a year (Thanksgiving and Christmas), and dad’s the only taker – even with extra bacon. Both boys have tasted it, but neither will willingly put it on their plate… oh well.
    Love the blog – look forward to reading about what you’re making and writing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

