The best time of the year

It’s growing season here in Minnesota and each year I find myself getting more and more excited about it.  The lilacs have bloomed, the garden is in and thriving, the farmers markets are open, and our first CSA delivery is this week.

Our flowering crabtree in full bloom. It almost makes up for the winter we had.

 

Even though I haven’t figured out how it will all get harvested, I’ve planted 15 tomato plants, 6 pots full of herbs, radishes, peas, beans, turnips, spinach, lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, and some raspberry and blueberry shrubs.  As I was planting my seeds, I realized that the harvest time for much of the garden is just about the time this baby will be making an appearance. We might not have to worry about the peas since the rabbits seem to nibble at a couple each night.  Every morning is a disappointment for me when I wake to find the stumps of the pea shoots.  I almost wish they’d just get it over with and eat them all.  The marigolds aren’t big enough to ward off the critters yet.

Thankfully, rhubarb is an early crop and I got to harvest mine a couple of weeks ago.  This is our fourth summer at our house, and I’ve never gotten around to using the rhubarb that grows at the back of our house.  I was determined to use it this year.  I remembered making rhubarb muffins when I was pregnant with Son #2 six years ago.  Rhubarb muffin recipes are hard to come by.  It seems every recipe involving rhubarb is a dessert and contains loads of sugar.  Personally, I like maintaining the tartness of rhubarb.  After several Google searches, I finally found a recipe for muffins that looked good. 

The recipe did not disappoint.  My whole family enjoyed them, which is saying a lot, since they are not a rhubarb-loving group.  My husband said it was just the right amount of rhubarb, meaning not too much.  I loved the recipe because the sugar didn’t cover the tartness of the rhubarb, but wasn’t overwhelming either.  I can’t wait to make them again.  Here is the link to the recipe I used: http://thelocalcook.com/2010/05/07/rhubarb-muffins/

 

Leave a Reply

