Blue Cake, one year later

Son #4 at 6 days old

I sat down to write a post about food, but realized it is just over a year since I started writing Woo-Hoo Tofu. So instead, I’ve decided to reflect on our year. What a year it has been. Looking back on my posts from a year ago brought me to my “Blue Cake, Anyone?” post. This was my most viewed post of all time because it was the big reveal of our fourth boy. Reading it again made me think about what a miracle each baby is. To think that almost exactly a year ago, there he was, this tiny being who did not have a name, but was growing and waiting to make his appearance.

Son #4 completes our family. He has dark brown eyes that look just like his daddy’s. Our other boys have hazel, green and blue eyes. I love to joke that it took four tries to have a baby that takes after dad. He is mellow most of the day, but can out-yell any of his brothers when he wants to be heard. He was the least fussy newborn of all my boys, but also the most attached to me. While his brothers hit developmental marks within days of each other, this guy has his own timeline. He just got his first tooth this week, at 7 months, compared to the 5 months of all his brothers. He didn’t sit up as early and he’s just starting to love food. Avocados were a huge hit tonight (here’s my food mention). His whole face lights up when he smiles, especially when I sing to him. I love watching the older boys interact with him. They are loving and helpful, but things are getting interesting now that Son #4 is rolling across the floor. This past week after the baby rolled over to the trains our 2-year was playing with, Son #3 told me “Put him on the couch. He is annoying me. Look what he did!”

At 6 months old, and looking just like dad.

Besides adding another member to our family, this year has been full of changes. We had to sell a car and buy a mini-van, I resigned from my job, my husband changed jobs, Son #2 started Kindergarten, and Son #1 was diagnosed with ADD. Overall, we are busy, happy, and extremely blessed. I am grateful to have all these boys to share adventures with. There are many more adventures to come.

As far as Woo-Hoo Tofu is concerned, I’ve noticed I’m becoming more long-winded. The Dark Days Challenge has been a great experience and my blog has evolved into something I wasn’t expecting. I’m excited to see where the next year leads me. Thanks for reading – I hope you’ve enjoyed my rambling.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Tammy said,

    I’ve found that part of the beauty of a blog is that it evolves in a way that you didn’t intend it to. Congratulations on a year and on a beautiful family of boys. There is nothing better.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

